TAT License : 14/00907
Trip Finder

TRAVEL THAILAND Travel Destinations

Booking with us 24/7

Reservation Team

+66 81 372 2259

Social Service
History of Samut Sakhon 

Samut Sakhon which is called by the locals as “Maha Chai” is a small province located on the mouth of the Tha Chin River, only 2 kilometres from the sea and 36 kilometres from Bangkok. It is a historic city recorded in the Ayutthaya Chronicle. This was during the period that Phrachao Suea travelled by the royal barge procession creating the story of the loyal Phanthai Norasin.

This province was originally called as “Tha Chin” because it was a large district on the Gulf of Thailand, where there were a lot of foreigners; especially the Chinese-Chin-who travelled by a vast number of Chinese junks and stopped at the port-Tha-for trading in the old days. Therefore, it was verbally well known as Tambon “Tha Chin”.

In 1548, during the reign of Phra Maha Chakkraphat, many new cities were established with the royal aims to gather power to flight with the Burmese, and a town named Sakhon Buri was established at the mouth of the Tha Chin River to be an outpost city preventing the invasion of enemies arriving by sea. It was also a center for recruiting troops from various seaside towns. The name of the town was changed to Mahachai when Klong (canal) Mahachai was dug in 1704 to connect the Tha Chin River to the town. Later, the town was renamed Samut Sakhon by King Rama IV but it is still popularly called Mahachai by its residents.
During the reign of King Rama V, he conducted governance reform by organizing the regional bureaucratic system in the form of a circle called “Monthon Thesaphiban”  and announced the establishment of Thailand’s first sanitary district in Tambon Tha Chalom in 1906.

Then in 1913, King Rama VI announced a royal command for the government to transform the word “Mueang” to “Changwat”- province-throughout the country. Mueang Samut Sakhon was changed to “Changwat Samut Sakhon” as it is still known at the present time. the word “Maha Chai” that people usually used is the name of a canal dug across the crrked Khlong Khok Kham which is the symbol of the loyalty of Phanthai Norasing.